Don’t Give Up On What You Know God Has Called You To Do

My writing ministry had me growing weary. I’ve been working on this YA fantasy novel for around four years now, and I just want it to be published already.

I was planning on self-publishing via eBook and raising the funds through Indie Gogo. However, after a sister in Christ challenged me—”Did God tell you to self-publish at this exact time”—I prayed. I sought more counsel and realized I should keep trying to get traditionally published.

At first I was discouraged. I cried, just wanting this book off my hands already, but then I prayed and began to worship. Within no more than ten minutes, God had encouraged me, and I was fine. Mind you, when I worshiped, I wasn’t, “feeling it.” I was still hurt, but I denied myself, denied my emotions, and chose to praise and thank God despite; out of obedience to His Word which commands us to give thanks in all circumstances.

When you repent—change your mind and agree with God—despite your circumstances and feelings, the Holy Spirit does a work in you and causes you to walk like His Son. I didn’t change my attitude, God through the Holy Spirit did, for the Word tells us, “It is God who works in you both to will and do for His good pleasure.”

When we choose to give God thanks, even when we don’t feel like it, our focus shifts from our problems to our problem solver, and He changes us by His grace.

This morning, I happened to read this:

For God is not unjust to forget your work and labor of love which you have shown toward His name, in that you have ministered to the saints, and do minister. And we desire that each one of you show the same diligence to the full assurance of hope until the end, that you do not become sluggish, but imitate those who through faith and patience inherit the promises. (‭Hebrews‬ ‭6‬:‭10-12‬ NKJV)

Yet again, our great Savior encouraged me. I won’t give up on this book. I’ve dedicated it to Him for His glory and purposes. I believe He will use it.

Don’t give up either. Whatever you commit to the Lord for His good usage is not a labor of vanity. As long as you work diligently and as excellently as you can, knowing you’re serving the Lord, He will bless and use your efforts far beyond what you can ask, think, or imagine.

Keep fighting on. Our battle isn’t against flesh and blood, and in Christ we are more than conquerors.

Grace to you,

Natasha

About BetterThanPrinceCharming

Ever since Kindergarten I've dated. From Bobby Well onward, I had over four dozen boyfriends. Fifth grade was my high year: sixteen sweethearts. I went through a few boys every year after that during middle school, and high school was where my dry season hit. Between freshman and senior year I had a consumation of nine boyfriends. I was on a hunt. I'd seen every Disney princess movie, and I was bound and determined to find my prince. Prince Charming wasn't in a far away land, he was in Miami, and I wasn't going to stop until I found him. So I thought. Villains are usually the one's who get in the way of your pursuit for happiness, not Heros, right? Well, in my case, it was both. View all posts by BetterThanPrinceCharming

13 responses to “Don’t Give Up On What You Know God Has Called You To Do

  • authorangelachristinaarcher

    I started my first novel in September 2009. At year one, I wasn’t anywhere near finished. At year 2, I thought I only had a few months left. Year three brought what I thought was the final draft and 19 rejections from agents and publishers. As I stared into the eyes of year four, I was discouraged and unsure of what to do. I just wanted the novel published. Year four brought another draft, another round of submissions, 10 more rejections…and 5 contract offers. While I could have just self published it, if I had, I don’t think it would be the book that it ended up becoming with my publisher and editor. It’s hard as the years keep ticking by, but the wait is worth it. 4 1/2 years after I started, to the day, my novel was live on Amazon. Good luck to you. 🙂

    • betterthanedward

      O, thank you so much for this! How encouraging. You sound just like me! I am glad you endured and kept trying—look at where it’s got you! I pray the same happens for me. I’m actually in the library now, researching literary agents via the 2015 Writer’s Market. I appreciate your encouragement. Thank you again, and God bless!

  • Sam

    As I read this I’m reminded of a scripture I read just this morning, Zechariah 4:10 – Do not despise these small beginnings, for the Lord rejoices to see the work begin…. I know the books are finished thus far, but the work of getting publish has only just begun and even in this, the Lord is rejoicing over you with joy and gladness! He loves this season, just like He assured them He loved the early stages of the temple building!
    Thank you for this sharing of your heart and your walk wit God. As someone who only just started to write her first book, I’m encouraged by your perseverance.

  • Jason Waguespack

    Four years? If you were in my shoes, you’d have gone ten! I worked on my story, off and on, from early 2002 until 2012 when it was finally published in its final form. It went through a number of completed drafts before it was finished. More than once, I figured it was ready, but something happened, some ideas needed to be changed, and I went back to the drawing board. The long trip to the end may have been tedious and frustrating, but without it, I would have not have produced the story that I did, and I’m glad it all turned out that way.

    • betterthanedward

      Thank you, Jason. I agree. Your perserverance is inspiring. I know I have to keep at it until it’s published. The writing journey never ends. The more we keep at it, the better we become. I’ve had a good amount of eyes read my work, but never a professional editor. That is my goal as I continue refining as best as I can: get that editor! Just have to save up for it. I’m at a place where there’s only minor details that I see need improvement. It’s about time I get an editor, and by God’s grace, I know of a very experienced one who has given me a great price.

Leave a Reply

