We The Millennials, Pledge Allegiance To Master Internet

The “net is takin” over all right—taking over millenials.

The older folks, those from the era before computers, typically don’t care much for the A.I. Mother Ship.

Sure, there’s some baby boomers, Generation Y-ers utilizing social media for business and marketing purposes, but the ones who are becoming consumed by the world-wide web, are us millenials.

Those of us being born/raised in the age of technology or “knowledge” aren’t just using the internet for business; many of us are using it to connect, to be noticed, to feel accepted.

We cling to our iPhones like parasites. Though our intellect tells us texting and driving = extreme danger, we just have to get our social-media fix.

Did they like my default pic? Who commented on my post? How many views do I have?

The internet has a way of temporarily satiating our deep need to feel loved.

The more followers and friends we have, the more loved we feel. And O, if we could only get famous for something we toss into the web, then we’ll really feel loved and fulfilled.

As a fellow human being, I’ve been there. I’ve checked blog stats and glanced at twitter numbers. I’ve taken time to tweak my photos to ensure I look the best I possibly can.

Honestly, if I did not know how insanely loved I was by God, as displayed through the death of His only Son on that rugged cross, the internet surely would have taken me over.

But because I know who I am—a dearly loved daughter of the Creator of the Universe, who has plans for me that are good and pleasing and perfect—the internet doesn’t consume me.

I don’t need a hundred likes, or even one for that matter, to feel loved or accepted. Jesus took me at my worst and His love has consumed me.

So whether I become a best-selling author or not, if the internet melts down and there’s no more blogging or Twitter, I’ll be fine.

My prayer is that my fellow millennials will come to that place of freedom, freedom from stats and likes, friends and followers, and allow True Love to take them over. That they would come to know it doesn’t matter how famous they are online, but what matters is their soul. That if and when the internet no longer exists, their world won’t be over. That Jesus is the one and only person that consumes them.

I’ve thrown in the towel on letting myself use the internet to fulfill what it utterly can’t, and hopefully you do as well.

About BetterThanPrinceCharming

Ever since Kindergarten I've dated. From Bobby Well onward, I had over four dozen boyfriends. Fifth grade was my high year: sixteen sweethearts. I went through a few boys every year after that during middle school, and high school was where my dry season hit. Between freshman and senior year I had a consumation of nine boyfriends. I was on a hunt. I'd seen every Disney princess movie, and I was bound and determined to find my prince. Prince Charming wasn't in a far away land, he was in Miami, and I wasn't going to stop until I found him. So I thought. Villains are usually the one's who get in the way of your pursuit for happiness, not Heros, right? Well, in my case, it was both. View all posts by BetterThanPrinceCharming

Leave a Reply

