Mega Church Vs. Home Church

It is truly an incredible blessing to have a pastor who could easily follow the recent trend and form a mega church, but who instead desires intimate discipleship and fellowship and to see God move powerfully through us, to love and serve practically the community and one another. It’s not about numbers, it’s about making solid, strong disciples. He’d rather have ten on fire for Jesus, than ten thousand faithful church service attendees who are not on fire for the Lord.

Many (not all) pastors are so concerned about bringing in the masses that they neglect the few they have now, thinking a forty minute sermon is enough when truly, christianity is about family; extremely close relationships with fellow brothers and sisters in Christ, being there for one another, holding each other accountable, building each other up. It’s not about spoon-feeding a message and then going about your day. I think a lot of these pastors have unwittingly turned church into a business rather than a loving and close-knit community of transformed lives.

Family, pray. I hope you aren’t in a church with leadership that doesn’t truly care tenderly for the flock. I pray you’re involved with a group of believers that meet at someone’s home, where it is more intimate and people can receive prayer and deliverance and personal encouragement, not just an often times generic sermon for thousands.

If you don’t have that, maybe pray about starting one of your own. That’s how the first church did things. They met at people’s homes and built strong relationships with their family in Christ and truly loved one another. Jesus said the world will know we’re His disciples by the way we love one another. But how can we do that in a mega-church setting where you go to service and then leave right after? Unless you serve there, then it becomes a little more intimate but even then, it’s not like you’re truly getting built up and ministering to each other, you are serving others which is great, but the body of Christ is supposed to build each other up too.

This close friendship and accountability is largely missing in our current church culture, but it is vital to our growth in the faith and in love. What do you think? Do you agree? Are you apart of a large church and feeling lonely? Are you in the service-attending routine, but don’t have genuine, close friendships with other believers that you can confess to and count on? Or are you also apart of a wonderful and thriving home church?

As the end draws near, the day gets darker. I highly doubt when anti-Christ shows his true colors there will still be public church buildings. I believe the church will be forced to go underground, like many today and in the days of the apostles. What a tragedy it will be if you have no one to cling to in that time, no one you know who has an open home for believers to gather together. I pray you find that, or create your own home church before it’s too late.

About BetterThanPrinceCharming

Ever since Kindergarten I've dated. From Bobby Well onward, I had over four dozen boyfriends. Fifth grade was my high year: sixteen sweethearts. I went through a few boys every year after that during middle school, and high school was where my dry season hit. Between freshman and senior year I had a consumation of nine boyfriends. I was on a hunt. I'd seen every Disney princess movie, and I was bound and determined to find my prince. Prince Charming wasn't in a far away land, he was in Miami, and I wasn't going to stop until I found him. So I thought. Villains are usually the one's who get in the way of your pursuit for happiness, not Heros, right? Well, in my case, it was both. View all posts by BetterThanPrinceCharming

One response to “Mega Church Vs. Home Church

  • Victoria Grace Howell

    Unfortunately I disagree with this. Home churches have their benefits but I haven’t experienced them. Smaller congregations I’ve encountered are often dead of the spirit and disorganized. I’m not saying all are that way but many are. My church is one of the largest in the country and the pastor has a genuine heart for the ministry and loves God and speaks the truth. We have a sermon then we have small groups where we can be more personal with each other. My “mega-church” helps hundreds of people in my community and in the world. I know some churches are lacking true leadership from their pastor and God’s blessing but that doesn’t mean all of them are. Could it be that perhaps a church is big because it truly speaks the Word of God? I believe this of mine. I’ve been to over a dozen churches and I haven’t grown in my faith significantly until I joined this one. So please don’t generalize.

Leave a Reply

