Do You Know What God Has Chosen You For?

I the Lord have called thee in righteousness, and will hold thine hand, and will keep thee, and give thee for a covenant of the people, for a light of the Gentiles; To open the blind eyes, to bring out the prisoners from the prison, and them that sit in darkness out of the prison house. (‭Isaiah‬ ‭42‬:‭6-7‬ KJV)

I will say to the north, Give up; and to the south, Keep not back: bring my sons from far, and my daughters from the ends of the earth; Even every one that is called by my name: for I have created him for my glory, I have formed him; yea, I have made him. (‭Isaiah‬ ‭43‬:‭6-7‬ KJV)

Is it not mind-blowing that God actually has good plans for us before we are born? Christians should gape in awe at God, struck silent with humility and unsurpassable honor at the fact that the Loving and Almighty Creator of the universe has chosen them before they breathed their first breath.

I heard a christian hip-hop song and the chorus said we are lucky. At first, I wasn’t sure I agreed with this notion, but I sure do now. We are extremely fortunate that for whatever reason, we were not destined for dishonor and destruction, because some are (Romans 9:10-29). I personally believe this may have something to do with God’s foreknowledge, that He knows who of His creation will—by their free will—choose to love Him or choose to hate Him, although I am not sure.

But either way, He chose //me//, He chose /us/ before we chose Him! And what did He choose us for? To merely inherit heaven? No, not to simply inherit heaven, although that’s a wonderful truth, but to be mighty lights in this ever-darkening world: to be a light to the lost, to open blind eyes with the truth of the gospel and set captives free by it.

Many have heard that we are “ambassadors of Christ” (2 Corinthians 5:20), but I don’t think all of us grasp the weight, the high honor, the amazing glory that entails. We are messengers and representatives of the only God, the First and Last, the Alpha and Omega, the King of Kings and Lord of Lords, who by the mere breath of His mouth, the thunderous quaking of His voice, created the entire universe. Who destroyed the first world with a flood of water that drowned the highest mountain peaks (and you think tsunamis are bad), who promises to dissolve this current earth with raging fire.

But tragically, so many who profess to be His children, His devoted followers, are not truly committed to following His will. They are selfish, content with receiving heaven, but not desiring to give up all to passionately pursue their alleged Master. The fruit of their life is the fruits of the flesh; sexual immorality, moral impurity, promiscuity, idolatry, sorcery, hatreds, strife, jealousy, outbursts of anger, selfish ambitions, dissensions, factions, envy, drunkenness, carousing, and anything similar to these, and though they think they’re getting away with these sins, they actually won’t receive the kingdom (Galatians 5:19-21). They go to church and think God’s grace and love is all they need and they’re good to go, but this is a destructive lie that now taints the Church and many are walking on the road to destruction without knowing it. They don’t fear God, who promises those who sow to the flesh will reap corruption and death—not eternal life—and that everyone, including professing Christians, will be judged by their works. They do not know that Jesus said:

“Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of My Father in heaven. On that day many will say to Me, ‘Lord, Lord, didn’t we prophesy in Your name, drive out demons in Your name, and do many miracles in Your name?’ Then I will announce to them, ‘I never knew you! Depart from Me, you lawbreakers!'” (Matthew 7:21-23)

But for those of us who love and fear Christ, let us never forget that though we suffer affliction, though our spouse or job or family may leave us, Christ never will. Though we may go into foreclosure, we have an everlasting home created by Christ Himself that will never be taken from us. Though we are in physical pain, we will receive new immortal and glorious bodies. Though we suffer persecution and hatred from our enemies, one day God Himself will praise us and the angels will rejoice as we enter through the pearly gates of the New Jerusalem and crowns are given us to adorn our heads, and shining bright robes of white to clothe our shining, heavenly bodies.

Let us remember the promises of our King, that we are a royal priesthood, a chosen people, a holy nation, set apart for the gospel of our God that we may bring others who are called into God’s kingdom with us where we will rejoice for all eternity and be surrounded by love, joy, and glory forever and ever.

May we deny ourselves every day and live for the kingdom to come. Amen.

About BetterThanPrinceCharming

Ever since Kindergarten I've dated. From Bobby Well onward, I had over four dozen boyfriends. Fifth grade was my high year: sixteen sweethearts. I went through a few boys every year after that during middle school, and high school was where my dry season hit. Between freshman and senior year I had a consumation of nine boyfriends. I was on a hunt. I'd seen every Disney princess movie, and I was bound and determined to find my prince. Prince Charming wasn't in a far away land, he was in Miami, and I wasn't going to stop until I found him. So I thought. Villains are usually the one's who get in the way of your pursuit for happiness, not Heros, right? Well, in my case, it was both. View all posts by BetterThanPrinceCharming

One response to “Do You Know What God Has Chosen You For?

  • amyleebell

    I believe that our being chosen has everything to do with His foreknowledge. I have believed that for quite some time, but I’ve never heard anyone else talk about it before. Great post.

Leave a Reply

