I’m Going To Hell Because I Don’t Read My Bible

He also spoke this parable: “A certain man had a fig tree planted in his vineyard, and he came seeking fruit on it and found none. Then he said to the keeper of his vineyard, ‘Look, for three years I have come seeking fruit on this fig tree and find none. Cut it down; why does it use up the ground?’ But he answered and said to him, ‘Sir, let it alone this year also, until I dig around it and fertilize it. And if it bears fruit, well. But if not, after that you can cut it down.’ ” (‭Luke‬ ‭13‬:‭6-9‬ NKJV)

Christ has expectations. He expects His followers to “bear fruit,” to make disciples and to be abounding with the characteristics of the Holy Spirit; love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control (Galatians‬ ‭5‬:‭22-23‬)

There comes a time when, if His followers do not produce fruit, He “cuts them down” and “throws them into the fire.”

“I am the true vine, and My Father is the vinedresser. Every branch in Me that does not bear fruit He takes away; and every branch that bears fruit He prunes, that it may bear more fruit. You are already clean because of the word which I have spoken to you. Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in Me. “I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing. If anyone does not abide in Me, he is cast out as a branch and is withered; and they gather them and throw them into the fire, and they are burned. If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you. By this My Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit; so you will be My disciples. (‭John‬ ‭15‬:‭1-8‬)

In some religious circles that claim allegiance to Christ, there is a lie being spread: you say a prayer once to accept Christ, and you’re now fire-proof and heaven-bound.

These two passages alone prove that notion is false. If Christ says people who don’t bear fruit will be cut down and thrown into the fire, then they will be cut down and thrown into the fire, despite having prayed a prayer to receive Him into their lives.

I’m afraid the unadulterated truth of what Christ actually taught has become and is becoming more and more foreign on pulpits.

My husband and I left the large, organized, insanely popular non-denominational building we used to attend for services because the messages kept getting more and more watered down to the point where our spirit-man was no longer getting fed. We’d leave unaffected by the teaching, and I would actually forget it before evening came.

I am beyond thankful to God that I thoroughly know my bible. From the time I first surrendered to Christ on February 22nd, 2009 to the present, I have never once gone a day without reading the Word. I’ve read the Old Testament about six times, and in year one of my walk with Christ, I stopped counting how many times I read the New after the twenty-something time and can say I’ve likely read it well over sixty times since.

But what about the newcomers? What about those who visit these extremely watered-down churches for the first time where they get more jokes and christianity ABC’s than actual heavy-duty challenging and edifying teachings? I’ll tell you this much: many, I mean many Christians I know who have professed Christ as Savior within the last five years or so, most have not read the entire bible yet, or even the entire New Testament yet and most do not read every day. Thus, they are ignorant of much of the truth, so they go to these services on Sunday and hear these watered-down pastors teaching things that either do very little—if anything—to impact the way their congregation lives, or at worst, they teach lies.

And so the ill-aquatinted “Christian” who doesn’t make the time to be a diligent student of the word in his or her own personal time becomes rather fruitless, and in the end, he will be burned with fire.

How horrible! How absolutely tragic that the very thing God warned His people about thousands of years ago is happening yet again:

My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge. Because you have rejected knowledge, I also will reject you from being priest for Me; Because you have forgotten the law of your God, I also will forget your children. (‭Hosea‬ ‭4‬:‭6‬)

Please, if this is you, really start reading your bible. You do not want to be in everlasting torment because you trusted more in the words of your pastor than in the living Word of God.

Don’t be foolish, make yourself wise. Because many false prophets have arisen, and many more will come. You do not want to be duped because of a lack of knowledge when bibles are so easily accessible you can have the entire thing on your phone for FREE!

Praying for you,

Natasha

About BetterThanPrinceCharming

Ever since Kindergarten I've dated. From Bobby Well onward, I had over four dozen boyfriends. Fifth grade was my high year: sixteen sweethearts. I went through a few boys every year after that during middle school, and high school was where my dry season hit. Between freshman and senior year I had a consumation of nine boyfriends. I was on a hunt. I'd seen every Disney princess movie, and I was bound and determined to find my prince. Prince Charming wasn't in a far away land, he was in Miami, and I wasn't going to stop until I found him. So I thought. Villains are usually the one's who get in the way of your pursuit for happiness, not Heros, right? Well, in my case, it was both. View all posts by BetterThanPrinceCharming

3 responses to “I’m Going To Hell Because I Don’t Read My Bible

  • Alexandria Bella

    Hey Natasha, great blog post. I’ve been getting really frustrated because I really want to read more of my bible and I am but when I use certain versions I realize that the difference in translation gives off the wrong message or not enough of the message. Like today in church I had a good news bible(I don’t usually carry this version to church, but I was running late and just grab the first one). My Bishop was pointing out the grammatical use in the bible at one point and I realize that his version and my version was TOTALLY DIFFERENT! If I was reading just from the good news bible I would lose some major valuable points he was pointing out from his version. Also I notice how two different versions of the bible in a chapter from Genesis say animals and another say humans(I can’t find my journal to say which chapter atm)
    Anyway….
    What type of bible would you suggest is the closet to the orginal text? Yet, not too difficult to read and understand. Also do you know of any books that…how can I say this…. have meanings of words that was use in the bible. For example a word that is frequently use in todays society we all know the meaning however the orginal meaning when the text was translated is different. I watched one of your videos last night when you was talking about the verse in Isaiah(I believe) when you was asking God for help in your relationship and he brought you to that chapter. And that it talked about a river, I didnt understand what that had to do with a relationship but you said how the river meant… something. Sorry I forgot.

    Thanks for reading
    God Bless

    • betterthanedward

      I think the New King James Version is excellent. And the word of God is likened to living water. When Jon and I were courting, he wasn’t really in the Word, and because of that, he was dry like a desert. He didn’t know God that well or His will that well because He wasn’t in the Word. This was a huge issue for me because I was so passionate about the Word. So when I opened to that passage, crying and begging God to show me if I should leave Jonathan, it said, “Behold, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs forth; do you not perceive and know it and will you not give heed to it? I will even make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert. The beasts of the field honor Me, the jackals and the ostriches, because I give waters in the wilderness and rivers in the desert, to give drink to My people, My chosen, [Isa. 41:17, 18; 48:21.] The people I formed for Myself, that they may set forth My praise [and they shall do it]. (‭Isaiah‬ ‭43‬:‭19-21‬ AMP)”

      And when I saw that it also said “My chosen,” and “they will set forth my praise,” it gave me hope that God had chosen Jonathan for me, and that Jonathan would give God praise.

      On our first day of premarital class, it just so happened that out of all the passages in the bible, the pastor read this exact same one: Isaiah 43:19-21.

Leave a Reply

