Am I A Pharisee Because I Believe This …

Some months ago, I had a revelation regarding Christians and sin. The revelation was that as a born-again believer in Christ, as someone who has been renewed in heart and mind, transformed by the Holy Spirit of Jesus Himself, I do not have to sin. I am not a helpless slave to the very thing Christ came to die for/free me from. I wrote a post about it the morning this powerful truth hit me.

And now here I am, months later, continuing to believe it and share it with others. However, I’ve noticed not many self-professing Christians believe it is possible to walk free from the power of sin by relying on the Holy Spirit. Some actually argue vehemently against it.

I found it troubling that those who profess to believe in Almighty God do not believe His Word. They have believed man’s word, but not God’s.

But Jesus looked at them and said to them, “With men this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” (Matthew 19:26)

Apparently, in their minds, all things are not possible with God.

How outlandish, how pharisaical, how legalistic, how foolish, how blasphemous to believe that in Christ it is possible to completely overcome the power of sin and practice self-control and holiness. Scriptures like these simply must not be divinely inspired:

“Therefore, having these promises, beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit, perfecting holiness in the fear of God.” (II Corinthians 7:1)

“Therefore do not let sin reign in your mortal body, that you should obey it in its lusts. And do not present your members as instruments of unrighteousness to sin, but present yourselves to God as being alive from the dead, and your members as instruments of righteousness to God. For sin shall not have dominion over you, for you are not under law but under grace. What then? Shall we sin because we are not under law but under grace? Certainly not! Do you not know that to whom you present yourselves slaves to obey, you are that one’s slaves whom you obey, whether of sin leading to death, or of obedience leading to righteousness? But God be thanked that though you were slaves of sin, yet you obeyed from the heart that form of doctrine to which you were delivered. And having been set free from sin, you became slaves of righteousness.” (Romans 6:12-18)

“Little children, let no one deceive you. He who practices righteousness is righteous, just as He is righteous. He who sins is of the devil, for the devil has sinned from the beginning. For this purpose the Son of God was manifested, that He might destroy the works of the devil. Whoever has been born of God does not sin, for His seed remains in him; and he cannot sin, because he has been born of God.” (I John 3:7-9)

“I say then: Walk in the Spirit, and you shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh.” (Galatians 5:16)

“Now to Him who is able to keep you from stumbling, And to present you faultless Before the presence of His glory with exceeding joy,” (Jude 1:24)

“For the grace of God that brings salvation has appeared to all men, teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly in the present age, looking for the blessed hope and glorious appearing of our great God and Savior Jesus Christ, who gave Himself for us, that He might redeem us from every lawless deed and purify for Himself His own special people, zealous for good works.” (Titus 2:11-14 NKJV)

“Epaphras, who is one of you, a bondservant of Christ, greets you, always laboring fervently for you in prayers, that you may stand perfect and complete in all the will of God.” (Colossians 4:12)

“Therefore be imitators of God as dear children. And walk in love, as Christ also has loved us and given Himself for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweet-smelling aroma. But fornication and all uncleanness or covetousness, let it not even be named among you, as is fitting for saints; neither filthiness, nor foolish talking, nor coarse jesting, which are not fitting, but rather giving of thanks. For this you know, that no fornicator, unclean person, nor covetous man, who is an idolater, has any inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and God. Let no one deceive you with empty words, for because of these things the wrath of God comes upon the sons of disobedience. Therefore do not be partakers with them.” (Ephesians 5:1-7)

“And He Himself gave some to be apostles, some prophets, some evangelists, and some pastors and teachers, for the equipping of the saints for the work of ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ, till we all come to the unity of the faith and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to a perfect man, to the measure of the stature of the fullness of Christ; that we should no longer be children, tossed to and fro and carried about with every wind of doctrine, by the trickery of men, in the cunning craftiness of deceitful plotting, but, speaking the truth in love, may grow up in all things into Him who is the head—Christ— from whom the whole body, joined and knit together by what every joint supplies, according to the effective working by which every part does its share, causes growth of the body for the edifying of itself in love. This I say, therefore, and testify in the Lord, that you should no longer walk as the rest of the Gentiles walk, in the futility of their mind, having their understanding darkened, being alienated from the life of God, because of the ignorance that is in them, because of the blindness of their heart; who, being past feeling, have given themselves over to lewdness, to work all uncleanness with greediness. But you have not so learned Christ, if indeed you have heard Him and have been taught by Him, as the truth is in Jesus: that you put off, concerning your former conduct, the old man which grows corrupt according to the deceitful lusts, and be renewed in the spirit of your mind, and that you put on the new man which was created according to God, in true righteousness and holiness.”(Ephesians 4:11-24 NKJV)

“Therefore, since Christ suffered for us in the flesh, arm yourselves also with the same mind, for he who has suffered in the flesh has ceased from sin, that he no longer should live the rest of his time in the flesh for the lusts of men, but for the will of God.” (I Peter 4:1, 2 NKJV)

“Therefore, brethren, be even more diligent to make your call and election sure, for if you do these things you will never stumble …” (II Peter 1:10)

I believed it too once: no matter what we will always be slaves of sin. But that isn’t biblical. It’s actually a false doctrine preached in pulpits by many a popular pastor. They call themselves and their church congregants sinners, and repeat this mantra as if it were a fact rather than a lie.

It’s true that those who believe they will always inevitably sin while in this body will likely live up to that lie. And so their belief is further established.

Forget taking God at His Word. They’d rather take their pastor’s word. Or maybe like me, they just were so brainwashed they never even considered the possibility of living sinlessly, conquering sin by the power of the Holy Spirit daily. And for these, I plead with you, consider what I am proposing, and look into it yourself. Search the Scriptures, not popular opinion. Do not add or take away from the Bible, just pray and ask the Holy Spirit to reveal the truth to you, whatever it is. Read with an open heart, and see what the Spirit shows you personally, for ultimately, He is our teacher.

So that’s my challenge. Consider if we as Christians truly can live free from the power of sin by choosing to obey God every day and clinging to Jesus, letting the Holy Spirit lead and sanctify us. Test this proposal against Scripture.

I pray you come to know and live in the freedom Christ died to give you.

Much love,

Natasha

About BetterThanPrinceCharming

Ever since Kindergarten I've dated. From Bobby Well onward, I had over four dozen boyfriends. Fifth grade was my high year: sixteen sweethearts. I went through a few boys every year after that during middle school, and high school was where my dry season hit. Between freshman and senior year I had a consumation of nine boyfriends. I was on a hunt. I'd seen every Disney princess movie, and I was bound and determined to find my prince. Prince Charming wasn't in a far away land, he was in Miami, and I wasn't going to stop until I found him. So I thought. Villains are usually the one's who get in the way of your pursuit for happiness, not Heros, right? Well, in my case, it was both. View all posts by BetterThanPrinceCharming

6 responses to “Am I A Pharisee Because I Believe This …

  • scaredwordsthoughtsheard

    I once read a book called A Reasonable Faith and it had a similar message to what you are saying, and I totally agree. If we know when the sun will rise and set and where the stars will align at night then we most certainly should know that with following Chris sin isn’t what we are deemed to keep doing. I consider myself to be a born again as I had been raised Catholic and I enjoyed your post!thanks!

  • Paul Davis

    Romans 7:19 – For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep doing.

    Romans 7:23-24 – For I delight in the law of God, in my inner being, but I see in my members another law waging war against the law of my mind and making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I serve the law of sin.

    1 Corinthians 15:56-57 – The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

    And finally….

    1 John 1:5-10 – This is the message we have heard from him and proclaim to you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all. If we say we have fellowship with him while we walk in darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth. But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin. If we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. If we say we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us.

    I can’t imagine a more direct verse than 1 John 1:10. You are a liar. Worse, you are a false prophet spreading lies which will cause people to stumble, if not entirely fall, in their faith. Because you ask the impossible and have deceived yourself into believing you’ve accomplished it.

    I will pray for you and your soul, that you will see the error of your ways and that God will place your footsteps. That you will evangelize for good, and not only to scare people from taking on the forgiveness of Christ because your vision says they must be perfect if they decide to. I pray Christ opens your eyes and your heart, and that Satan gets behind you, instead of blinding you with misguided beliefs. But right now you are a false prophet, and they have a fate awaiting them that I would not wish on any.

  • betterthanedward

    You realize Romans 7 passage is past tense if you read the chapter in context. If you read the previous chapter, you’d see he specifically says sin will not have dominion over us, and vehemently argues that we should no longer remain sinning. 1 Cor. 15 verses actually affirm that in Christ we have victory over sin and death. 1 John 1 is the gospel. Of course before Christ we are sinners, hence his saying if we confess, He is faithful to forgive and cleanse us. You are basically saying God suddenly becomes blind to sin after we profess faith. God hates sin so much He was always judging and harshly punishing His people for sinning against Him. Until finally He dealt with the power of sin once for all by sending His Son to defeat sin in the flesh, making the same exact victory possible for all those who henceforth put their trust in Him.

    “What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin that grace may abound? Certainly not! How shall we who died to sin live any longer in it?”(Romans 6:1, 2)

    “He who sins is of the devil, for the devil has sinned from the beginning. For this purpose the Son of God was manifested, that He might destroy the works of the devil. Whoever has been born of God does not sin, for His seed remains in him; and he cannot sin, because he has been born of God.” (I John 3:8, 9)

  • ladyandherknight

    Good words, Natasha. Keep telling the truth. Those who deny the power of God will continue to assault you with insults and untruths, but we have to keep fighting the good fight.

    It is interesting how sin proponents often appeal to 1 John chapter one, when that is one of the clearest passages indicating the necessity of perfect holiness. They get the meaning completely backwards. Here is my essay on the topic – http://oraclesoffire.blogspot.com/2009/02/cleansed-from-all-sin.html

    • betterthanedward

      I think this passage confirms our stance as well when Paul confronted Peter for hypocrisy:

      “But if, while we seek to be justified by Christ, we ourselves also are found sinners, is Christ therefore a minister of sin? Certainly not! For if I build again those things which I destroyed, I make myself a transgressor. For I through the law died to the law that I might live to God. I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.” (Galatians 2:17-20)

  • Living A Life Completely Free of Sin | Natasha Sapienza

    […] To those who believe even as Christians, we will always fall prey to sin, no matter what, until we are resurrected, I soberly ask if you know of even just one Scripture that affirms this belief? Because there are several that teach the exact opposite (see this blog post). […]

Leave a Reply

