I’m A Christian, But I Leave My Christianity At Church

Dare I take this election lightly. Would I lodge this High Calling beneath my bed like a box of old goods, never to be utilized again?

But you are his chosen people, the King’s priests. You are a holy nation, people who belong to God. He chose you to tell about the wonderful things he has done. He brought you out of the darkness of sin into his wonderful light. (1 Peter 2:9 ERV)

How can I so spit upon the loving mercy and lavish grace of my Lord, whose greatest desire is to conform me to the image of His Son? How can I selfishly resist this transforming process from glory to glory, and refuse to share His love and grace with others?

Do I seize His forgiveness and—like Smeagol and the ring of power—horde this precious gift for my self and never share it? Or is this the second greatest call of my election—to preach the gospel?

Our King treaded the earth, likely with blistering feet, many times hungry and in great thirst so that the gospel of His saving grace may be made known to those in darkness. Every day He answered that call, and out of His mouth came the very words, “For this is why I have come.”

If this relentless preacher of the gospel so lives in us, how can we lack zeal? How can we be bound by fear? How can we bite our tongues?

It is sin.

O, how I pray that whatever darkness is keeping us from passionately proclaiming the truth of our precious Savior is forsaken, is thrown out like the blackened water it is! May the poison of sin be extracted from our hearts that it may no longer pollute the holy blood that has previously cleansed us.

Beloved, you know what sin you hold in your right hand, and I beg of you to release it. Then you will be strengthened from on High, revived by the flames of Love Himself, that you may go out and be a blazing beacon of the very Truth that has set you free. If you are in Christ yet enslaved to sin, it is only because you are choosing to be. And if you love your sin more than you love our Savior, is His Holy Spirit truly still in you?

If you love sin, how can He who hates it truly dwell in you?

Repent and be renewed as King David was resurrected from the death His sin brought upon him. Turn aside from your sin and cry out to Jesus. He will deliver all who call on His name. And you will walk in the greatest callings: conformity to Jesus Christ, and bringing the good news of salvation to others; becoming holy and worthy of the call, and rescuing souls from eternal darkness. There is no greater cause than these.

May you be made whole, and may we meet in the new city of our King in the next life.

Much love,

Natasha

About BetterThanPrinceCharming

Ever since Kindergarten I've dated. From Bobby Well onward, I had over four dozen boyfriends. Fifth grade was my high year: sixteen sweethearts. I went through a few boys every year after that during middle school, and high school was where my dry season hit. Between freshman and senior year I had a consumation of nine boyfriends. I was on a hunt. I'd seen every Disney princess movie, and I was bound and determined to find my prince. Prince Charming wasn't in a far away land, he was in Miami, and I wasn't going to stop until I found him. So I thought. Villains are usually the one's who get in the way of your pursuit for happiness, not Heros, right? Well, in my case, it was both. View all posts by BetterThanPrinceCharming

Leave a Reply

