I Believe In Jesus, But I Don’t Follow Him

My dear children, I write this letter to you so that you will not sin. But if anyone sins, we have Jesus Christ to help us. He always did what was right, so he is able to defend us before God the Father. Jesus is the way our sins are taken away. And he is the way all people can have their sins taken away too. If we obey what God has told us to do, then we are sure that we know him. If we say we know God but do not obey his commands, we are lying. The truth is not in us. But when we obey God’s teaching, his love is truly working in us. This is how we know that we are living in him. If we say we live in God, we must live the way Jesus lived. (1 John 2:1-6 ERV)

Too many say they believe in Christ, but then they don’t obey His commands. Then, when a Christian lovingly points this out as being false religion, that we need to repent and follow Jesus, many times the person gets angry and uses—way out of context—the verse, “Do not judge.”

But it’s not us simply stating our opinion on their sinful lifestyle, it’s us pleading God’s Word, His commands, His opinion of their lifestyle that His light might shine on their darkness so they will see His truth and stop sinning.

I’ve had dearly loved friends who truly believe they’re all right with Jesus, but yet, they are not obeying His commands. They do not follow His teachings, but when I point out to them a Scripture that clearly condemns what they’re practicing, they tell me, “Only God can judge me.”

It’s really sad. I love them, and I know God does too, but He is holy, and cannot stand sinful behavior. He hates it so much the only way in His sight it could ever be forgiven is if someone completely perfect without a drop of sin in them dies in our place. Sin is so serious to God it requires a blood sacrifice. How can we deceive ourselves into thinking we can just believe Jesus is God’s Son, then keep on sinning and not be punished for trampling His blood sacrifice?

If we decide to continue sinning after we have learned the truth, then there is no other sacrifice that will take away sins. If we continue sinning, all that is left for us is a fearful time of waiting for the judgment and the angry fire that will destroy those who live against God. Whoever refused to obey the Law of Moses was found guilty from the testimony given by two or three witnesses. Such people were not forgiven. They were killed. So think how much more punishment people deserve who show their hate for the Son of God—people who show they have no respect for the blood sacrifice that began the new agreement and once made them holy or who insult the Spirit of God’s grace. We know that God said, “I will punish people for the wrongs they do; I will repay them.” And he also said, “The Lord will judge his people.” It is a terrible thing to face punishment from the living God. (Hebrews 10:26-31 ERV)

So there you have it, from the Word of God. Will you dismiss this entire blog as my opinion or with a flippant, “Don’t judge me,” or will you let God’s truth penetrate your heart because He loves you and doesn’t want you to be destroyed; He simply wants you to repent and follow Him.

Will you believe whatever sin you’re indulging in is worth going to hell for? Or will you trust God’s Word which says God’s plans for you are good, pleasing, acceptable and perfect?

Will you trust that you know what’s best for you, that this temporary pleasure is worth losing Jesus and eternal life for, or will you trust that God knows what’s best for you and follow His good plans for your life?

The choice is yours.

About BetterThanPrinceCharming

Ever since Kindergarten I've dated. From Bobby Well onward, I had over four dozen boyfriends. Fifth grade was my high year: sixteen sweethearts. I went through a few boys every year after that during middle school, and high school was where my dry season hit. Between freshman and senior year I had a consumation of nine boyfriends. I was on a hunt. I'd seen every Disney princess movie, and I was bound and determined to find my prince. Prince Charming wasn't in a far away land, he was in Miami, and I wasn't going to stop until I found him. So I thought. Villains are usually the one's who get in the way of your pursuit for happiness, not Heros, right? Well, in my case, it was both. View all posts by BetterThanPrinceCharming

2 responses to “I Believe In Jesus, But I Don’t Follow Him

Leave a Reply

