Are You Desiring Someone Else’s Calling?

I know a lot of pastors who like to preach about the great plans God has for all of us. Now, this is true for some, but not all. Hear me out before you start gettin’ ruffled feathers.

The Apostle Paul wrote in 1 Corinthians 12:18-25, 27-31:

“But now God has placed each one of the parts in one body just as He wanted. And if they were all the same part, where would the body be? Now there are many parts, yet one body. So the eye cannot say to the hand, “I don’t need you! ” Or again, the head can’t say to the feet, “I don’t need you! ” But even more, those parts of the body that seem to be weaker are necessary. And those parts of the body that we think to be less honorable, we clothe these with greater honor, and our unpresentable parts have a better presentation. But our presentable parts have no need of clothing. Instead, God has put the body together, giving greater honor to the less honorable, so that there would be no division in the body, but that the members would have the same concern for each other. Now you are the body of Christ, and individual members of it. And God has placed these in the church: first apostles, second prophets, third teachers, next miracles, then gifts of healing, helping, managing, various kinds of languages. Are all apostles? Are all prophets? Are all teachers? Do all do miracles? Do all have gifts of healing? Do all speak in other languages? Do all interpret? But desire the greater gifts. And I will show you an even better way.”

Not everyone is going to be behind a pulpit speaking to thousands. Not everyone is going to be “famous” for Jesus (though heaven will know who they are). Some people are the helpers as Paul said, or the managers. Some are the moms who raise up devoted followers of Christ. Some are Sunday School teachers. Whatever God has called you to do may not be “great” according to the world’s standard, but He promises His plans for you are good, pleasing, and acceptable.

Paul emphasizes the importance of the parts of the body we deem weaker and how we’re all on level ground in Christ Jesus. There are no celebrities with special benefits in God’s economy. And I personally think those who walk around like they are, probably aren’t even true Christians. But I digress.

The point is, whatever your calling is, embrace it, even if it’s a behind-the-scenes gig. Because God says it’s good and will be pleasing. He predestined good works for you to walk in, but if you’re wasting time envying and chasing someone else’s calling, you’ll end up rather unhappy and will more than likely end up falling into sin because you’re not where you’re supposed to be.

I love you guys, and I pray you walk on God’s paths for your life rather than wandering lost onto someone else’s.

About BetterThanPrinceCharming

Ever since Kindergarten I've dated. From Bobby Well onward, I had over four dozen boyfriends. Fifth grade was my high year: sixteen sweethearts. I went through a few boys every year after that during middle school, and high school was where my dry season hit. Between freshman and senior year I had a consumation of nine boyfriends. I was on a hunt. I'd seen every Disney princess movie, and I was bound and determined to find my prince. Prince Charming wasn't in a far away land, he was in Miami, and I wasn't going to stop until I found him. So I thought. Villains are usually the one's who get in the way of your pursuit for happiness, not Heros, right? Well, in my case, it was both. View all posts by BetterThanPrinceCharming

Leave a Reply

