Christians: Stop Stepping In Dog Poop

Wow:

“But now since you have been set free from sin and have become the slaves of God, you have your present reward in holiness and its end is eternal life.”(Romans 6:22 AMP)

Wow squared:

“So then, my dear friends, just as you have always obeyed, not only in my presence, but now even more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. For it is God who is working in you, enabling you both to desire and to work out His good purpose.” (Philippians 2:12, 13)

This verse has finally clicked in my brain:

“Do everything without grumbling and arguing, so that you may be blameless and pure, children of God who are faultless in a crooked and perverted generation, among whom you shine like stars in the world.” (Philippians 2:14, 15, italics mine)

So my question is: why are so many Christians struggling with sin?

I touched on this, but for me personally, I struggled with sin; impatience, rudeness to my husband sometimes, selfishness. And even though they were done on “smaller scales,” they were consistent. I didn’t know why I couldn’t stop acting them out completely.

Then this whole thing happened; a huge whammy revelation that all this time, I’ve been believing a lie: that even as a Christian, I would mess up and sin. I just completely accepted this as fact, that it was impossible to be, as Colossians 1:10 states, “fully pleasing” to God.

But it’s not impossible. In fact, it’s expected! We are commanded to walk worthily and work out our salvation.

Now some will pause and say I’m believing a works-only salvation, but that’s not what I’m saying, and that’s not what the Bible is saying.

What the Bible says is that we are saved by God’s grace, through Jesus Christ, who’s blood cleanses us from all sin, and makes us new. Now, in this newness, we can walk in holiness and obedience to God, that leads to salvation.

Remember:

“But now since you have been set free from sin and have become the slaves of God, you have your present reward in holiness and its end is eternal life. For the wages which sin pays is death, but the [bountiful] free gift of God is eternal life through (in union with) Jesus Christ our Lord.” (Romans 6:22, 23 AMP)

There is a payment for sin, and that is death, however:

“All wrongdoing is sin, and there is sin which does not [involve] death [that may be repented of and forgiven]. We know [absolutely] that anyone born of God does not [deliberately and knowingly] practice committing sin, but the One Who was begotten of God carefully watches over and protects him [Christ’s divine presence within him preserves him against the evil], and the wicked one does not lay hold (get a grip) on him or touch [him].” (1 John 5:17, 18 AMP)

There are sins that don’t lead to death, but we know lying does for sure, as does sexual immorality, drunkenness, selfishness, idolatry, anger, envy, etc. and how many Christians struggle with these yet justify it and think they’ll still get into heaven?

We can’t trust our feelings or the mere teachings of men. We need to search the Scriptures, to really know them ourselves, and obey God.

“Enter through the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the road is broad that leads to destruction, and there are many who go through it. How narrow is the gate and difficult the road that leads to life, and few find it.” (Matthew 7:13, 14)

About BetterThanPrinceCharming

Ever since Kindergarten I've dated. From Bobby Well onward, I had over four dozen boyfriends. Fifth grade was my high year: sixteen sweethearts. I went through a few boys every year after that during middle school, and high school was where my dry season hit. Between freshman and senior year I had a consumation of nine boyfriends. I was on a hunt. I'd seen every Disney princess movie, and I was bound and determined to find my prince. Prince Charming wasn't in a far away land, he was in Miami, and I wasn't going to stop until I found him. So I thought. Villains are usually the one's who get in the way of your pursuit for happiness, not Heros, right? Well, in my case, it was both. View all posts by BetterThanPrinceCharming

9 responses to “Christians: Stop Stepping In Dog Poop

  • Paul Davis

    The wages of all sin is death. While we are never to justify our actions, we are to always struggle with sin, we will never be free of sin. I do believe this will be a difficult age for Christians. I agree we often times justify and our movies are filled with horrible things that society says is okay. With the slippery slope we’re taking, soon what was abhorrent five years ago will be acceptable practice. I struggle with a lot of sins. I try to fight them. I know they are wrong, despite numerous people telling me it’s okay. So I fight it, and though at times I may lose, I know at the end of the day God has a place for me.

    “I promise you that any of the sinful things you say or do can be forgiven, no matter how terrible those things are. But if you speak against the Holy Spirit, you can never be forgiven. That sin will be held against you forever.” — Mark 3:28-29 (CEV)

    • betterthanedward

      “Don’t be deceived: bad company corrupts good character.” You need to forsake hanging around those who practice sinning. You need to walk in fear before God, diligently seeking Him, and being fully dependent on His strength to overcome sin.

      “No, in all these things we are more than victorious through Him who loved us.” (Romans 8:37)

      “I am able to do all things through Him who strengthens me.”(Philippians 4:13)

      Since the word of God is true, if we aren’t living it, we need to ask ourselves: do I /really/ believe this book?

      • Paul Davis

        We shouldn’t yoke ourselves to wickedness. It will corrupt us. (2 Corinth 6:14) But Jesus regularly went to the sinners to preach. My brother knows a pastor who goes to the local bar for Bible study. Just cracks open a Bible, orders a beer, and starts talking about it to whoever listens. And they do. These aren’t swanky bars. There are some desperate souls there. He’s not getting drunk, but he has one or two.

        Romans regularly talks about sinning, especially 7:15 and 7:19. If we look at the Word being true, we should know something very important: we’re screwed without the salvation of Christ. We can’t live it. If we could, Christ wouldn’t be required. We can try to live it. And we are to try and live it with everything we have. But without Christ, we fail. Each and every time.

      • betterthanedward

        But that’s the beauty: we are with Christ now. “I will never leave or forsake you.” He’s “sealed us with the Holy Spirit.” His very own Spirit lives inside, enabling us to walk in holiness.

    • betterthanedward

      Jesus answered them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, everyone who commits sin is the slave of sin. And the slave does not remain in the house forever; the son does remain forever. If therefore the Son shall make you free, you shall be free indeed.” (John 8:34-36)

  • Arphaxad

    What a beautiful way to end 2013. You have a real gift for finding truth in the Bible and sharing it with others. I look forward to what you have to share in 2014. God bless

    • betterthanedward

      🙂 I’m so glad you’re reading. I’m just grateful God decided to reveal these things to me. It blows my mind that I’ve read these same Scriptures so many times, and despite how blatantly obvious their meaning is, it’s gone without genuine belief and ownership in my life. I highly recommend this read from Christian author, Bryan Davis. He expounds on it in ways I have yet to be able to:

      http://www.daviscrossing.com/free%20indeed.pdf

      • Arphaxad

        Get a bible with extra wide margins, take notes. In 5 years go back and read and you will be amazed at how God reveals truths to us when we read His word and are ready to recieve it. That was told to me by a godly man when I was first saved and it amazes me every time I go back and read the notes I have made.

Leave a Reply

