My Earthly Dad Versus My Heavenly One

Every time my earthly dad chuckled at my impersonations, the funny accents I’d do, the costumes I’d parade in, did not my Heavenly Father do the same?

When my earthly dad taught me to ride bike, and cheered me on as I listened to his instruction, and trusting him, applied it and succeeded, did not my Heavenly Father also cheer?

When I had my first accident, where I hurt myself and cried, and my earthly dad held me in his warm embrace and comforted me with kisses, does not my Heavenly Father likewise comfort me?

When my earthly dad let me go out on my own, and hoped I’d do the right thing, does not my Heavenly Father hope the same?

When my earthly dad said yes to the man who is now my husband when he asked for my hand, did not my Heavenly Father desire to say yes to a trust worthy man that will take care of me and tend to me with Christ-like love?

My earthly dad did a good job at taking care of me. He did the best he could. But my Heavenly Father is perfect. He is always good. His love for me far surpasses the love my earthly dad has for me, because God is divine. He has no beginning, middle or end. His love for me reaches beyond the seas, past the ends of the earth, into eternity where there is no bounds.

He extends His hand to me, hoping I will grasp it and never let go. For I am His daughter, his precious baby girl. His diamond in the rough. He seeks to tend to me, to nurture me, to train me in love. He desires to reveal to me just how deep his love goes.

More than my hard-working hands, He wants my diligent heart. He yearns for me to sit at his feet and listen to him, to bond with him, to spend quality time with him, more than he wants me to go out there and serve him.

Who am I, that He desires me to know Him fully? Who am I, that He yearns for me to sit close?

His love is enough. It is more than enough. It is abundant, extravagant, infinite. I want to bathe in it every day. I want it to soak deep inside my pores, to rest inside my soul, to marinate in my heart, every day He blesses me with.

Lord, may the work come only after I’ve swam in your love, only after I’ve acknowledged it and sincerely thanked You for it. Only then.

I love you, Jesus. Please help me to love You more.

About BetterThanPrinceCharming

Ever since Kindergarten I've dated. From Bobby Well onward, I had over four dozen boyfriends. Fifth grade was my high year: sixteen sweethearts. I went through a few boys every year after that during middle school, and high school was where my dry season hit. Between freshman and senior year I had a consumation of nine boyfriends. I was on a hunt. I'd seen every Disney princess movie, and I was bound and determined to find my prince. Prince Charming wasn't in a far away land, he was in Miami, and I wasn't going to stop until I found him. So I thought. Villains are usually the one's who get in the way of your pursuit for happiness, not Heros, right? Well, in my case, it was both. View all posts by BetterThanPrinceCharming

Leave a Reply

