Pope Francis: Preacher of Peace, or the Gospel?

Dear loved ones of the Catholic persuasion, do not be enamored by merely the concept of change. Many preach change, but read the fine print, the details of what that “change” entails.

Pope Francis “referred to St. Paul’s outreach to pagans and other religions, said that the church should include people who feel excluded, and preach peace.”

But dear loved ones, what did our Lord Jesus Himself teach?

“Do not think that I came to bring peace on earth. I *did not* come to bring peace but a sword. For I have come to ‘set a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law’; and ‘a man’s enemies will be those of his own household.’ He who loves father or mother more than Me is not worthy of Me. And he who loves son or daughter more than Me is not worthy of Me. And he who does not take his cross and follow after Me is not worthy of Me.” (Matthew 10:34)

This is what Jesus taught us to preach:

“Go into all the world and preach *the gospel* to every creature. He who believes and is baptized will be saved; but he who does not believe will be condemned.”(Mark 16:15, 16)

“And he commanded us to preach to the people and to testify that he is the one appointed by God to be judge of the living and the dead.”-Acts 10:42

“From that time Jesus began to preach, saying, “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.”-Matthew 4:17

Jesus taught for people to repent, to turn from their sins and follow Him. He did not walk around preaching mere “peace.” He is peace. When you get right with Him by accepting Him as Lord and forsaking your sin you receive peace with God.

Let us just listen well and continue to pray. I do not know pope Francis’ heart, I only know his words. But words do eventually reveal what is in the heart.

Do we seek to please men or God? The gospel truth does polarize. Jesus taught, “He who is not for me is against me.” And in Revelation that He would “vomit from His mouth” lukewarm Christians.

Peace on this earth full of sinners and wicked men is impossible. Heaven on earth will never, ever happen until Jesus returns and rules it Himself with a rod.

Forget peace. Preach the gospel. Salvation is infinitely more important than tranquility without eternal life.

Christian, don’t get caught up in the hype. Anti-Christ will bring temporary “peace” and then he will rule with an iron fist and force the world to worship him.

Don’t seek peace alone. Seek Christ, and in so doing, in Him alone, one will find peace.

“Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” (Matthew 11:28, 29)

About BetterThanPrinceCharming

Ever since Kindergarten I've dated. From Bobby Well onward, I had over four dozen boyfriends. Fifth grade was my high year: sixteen sweethearts. I went through a few boys every year after that during middle school, and high school was where my dry season hit. Between freshman and senior year I had a consumation of nine boyfriends. I was on a hunt. I'd seen every Disney princess movie, and I was bound and determined to find my prince. Prince Charming wasn't in a far away land, he was in Miami, and I wasn't going to stop until I found him. So I thought. Villains are usually the one's who get in the way of your pursuit for happiness, not Heros, right? Well, in my case, it was both. View all posts by BetterThanPrinceCharming

One response to “Pope Francis: Preacher of Peace, or the Gospel?

  • SaintlySages

    Very insightful post. Like you, I pay close attention to Christ’s own words. But, as for those who claim to speak for Him, I listen to their interpretations with caution, realizing that wolves come in disguise, that is, speaking nice-sounding half-truths. God bless!

Leave a Reply

