If God Says You’re Beautiful, Who’s To Say You Aren’t?

Yesterday I attended Friday night Bible study and during worship (when we sing to the Lord), the singer, who is a good friend, began sharing.

“Let’s not try to impress God. He has angels with perfect pitches who literally have instruments built into them that worship Him. Let us just get to that intimate place with Him.”

This really, really resonated with me because everyday I worship at home in the morning, and I seriously try to impress God with my singing and how much effort I’m trying to put into it. And last night, in that moment, I just imagined God chuckling at my attempts, like how a Father chuckles at his little son who is trying desperately to beat him at a wrestling match, and I realized that is where my disconnect stemmed from: when I began worshipping to impress God rather than just to share a time of loving intimacy with Him.

As the layers behind my worship began to peel away, I cried and bowed my head. I told God I didn’t deserve to look up at Him.

Then I heard God speak.

He said, “I have made you holy, I have made you righteous. You are beautiful. Look up at Me.”

Now my tears flowed from joy. “God, you think I’m beautiful?” And I looked up.

The rest of my time in worship consisted of a joy I had missed out on for a while now. I have had this joy before, this deep sense of the weight of God’s love, but when my worship turned into approval-seeking, the joy got a little dry.

Jesus promised complete joy, but He desires intimacy. He wants us to come to Him with no motives, but simply to love and be loved by Him. He calls Himself the Bridegroom, and we His people, the Bride.

The joy and intimacy I experienced last night, I want to experience every single day.

I woke up today with that resolve. And when I came into worship, O did God reveal just a little more of the depth of His immeasurable love to me.

I realized that we can’t even measure this universe, with its billions of stars and galaxies, let alone God’s love. And again, I was moved to tears at the grandness of that, the vastness, the infinite capacity of love this God pours out over the entire universe. Even in the midst of all its darkness caused by evil and all our sin, God’s love reaches out to us; it surrounds us in creation and beckons us by His Spirit. The reality of what He sent His Son to this earth to do, to shed His perfect blood, to be pierced and wounded and broken, that we might be reconciled to the Father and have access to an eternal love-relationship with Him. God’s love is everywhere. No matter how dark this world is, it can never, and will never, extinguish the light of God’s love that encompasses every fiber of this universe. The Author of love, Love itself, has His fingerprints upon us all, He has His markings in our DNA, in our hearts. He wrote His law on us, He gave us a conscience, He gave us a book saturated with divine inspiration, a hundred percent prophetically accurate and transforming.

His love is everywhere. And I can’t get enough of it.

Jesus is a Man I will never get over.

He has no beginning, no middle and no end so His love has no beginning, no middle and no end. It is boundless. It is eternal. And it is waiting … for you.

About BetterThanPrinceCharming

Ever since Kindergarten I've dated. From Bobby Well onward, I had over four dozen boyfriends. Fifth grade was my high year: sixteen sweethearts. I went through a few boys every year after that during middle school, and high school was where my dry season hit. Between freshman and senior year I had a consumation of nine boyfriends. I was on a hunt. I'd seen every Disney princess movie, and I was bound and determined to find my prince. Prince Charming wasn't in a far away land, he was in Miami, and I wasn't going to stop until I found him. So I thought. Villains are usually the one's who get in the way of your pursuit for happiness, not Heros, right? Well, in my case, it was both. View all posts by BetterThanPrinceCharming

Leave a Reply

