Who’d a thunk I’d write what I’m currently writing

Growing up I had been a reader. I not only enjoyed reading, but storytelling. I was the little girl who won certificates for her FCAT reading and writing scores and drew pretty pictures to accompany my stories.

As I reached middle school, I continued to read, but writing became less of a hobby, and by the time I hit high school, forget about it. I took my honors writing assignments seriously and read a few books, but my obsession with guys had overshadowed many of my previous hobbies.

The only books I read my high school years were class-assigned ones, the Twilight series, and the first and second books of James Paterson’s Maximum Ride series. Yeah, I’d written several unassigned works; poems for and about my ex-boyfriend.

So why am I telling you all this? So God receives the glory for what He’s done and is currently doing.

After I surrendered my whole heart to Him on February 22nd, 2009, He not only healed me of the broken-heart my ex left me with, but He restored in me a new passion for writing.

See, although I enjoyed reading and writing, I really loved acting. After two years of relationship distractions, I finally auditioned and got accepted into the drama magnet program. I believed I’d someday become a famous actress, and that is all I desired to pursue. But after that midnight-surrendering in February, I suddenly got struck with an idea for a film, and no more than two months later, my sister and I had written a full-length screenplay, and it dawned on me: I’m not only an actress, but God is also calling me to be a writer.

Soon after, in March, I met my dream prince, the man who is now my husband. I thought our divinely-constructed meeting and relationship was so awesome I decided to write a book on it. Within a year of being married, I completed over 100,000 words.

I was in awe. Here I had believed I was solely an actress, but God had transformed me into a full-fledged writer (mind you, the book was terribly written, being that it wasn’t until after that I read five books on the craft and attended two conferences, but either way, I was now a legit writer).

Two-and-a-half years ago I was sitting in a prophetic church and while the pastor was teaching, God birthed a story in my heart: The Seven, a fantasy trilogy with seven main characters each representing one of the seven Spirits of God written of in the book of Isaiah.
I was flabbergasted. Me, write a fantasy trilogy? I kinda liked the James Paterson sci-fi, but not enough to finish the series, and the only fantasy books I’d read were from the Harry Potter series. I was not a Lord of the Rings fan (but now after re-watching them last year I totally am), I just didn’t desire reading fantasy novels, yet here was God, giving me a fantasy trilogy to write.

Knowing I was out of my league, it took me over a month to work up the courage to start writing it. But I did, and here I am two-and-a-half years later, working on book two and loving it.
I’m twenty-three-years-old, writing a young adult, high-fantasy trilogy with only the Harry Potter books tucked in my brain from when I was in middle school. Isn’t that cool? Doesn’t God get the credit for concocting such a preposterous notion?

How about you? What are you currently working on? Have any funny or ironic writing-tales you’d like to bless me with? Please feel free to share them in a comment.
Until next time, write on!

About BetterThanPrinceCharming

Ever since Kindergarten I've dated. From Bobby Well onward, I had over four dozen boyfriends. Fifth grade was my high year: sixteen sweethearts. I went through a few boys every year after that during middle school, and high school was where my dry season hit. Between freshman and senior year I had a consumation of nine boyfriends. I was on a hunt. I'd seen every Disney princess movie, and I was bound and determined to find my prince. Prince Charming wasn't in a far away land, he was in Miami, and I wasn't going to stop until I found him. So I thought. Villains are usually the one's who get in the way of your pursuit for happiness, not Heros, right? Well, in my case, it was both. View all posts by BetterThanPrinceCharming

Leave a Reply

