Marriage keeps gettin’ sweeter

Today is me and Sir Jonathan’s three-year anniversary. And each year, I reflect and see that our marriage has simply gotten better and better. How is this possible?

Though one may be overpowered by another, two can withstand him. And a threefold cord is not quickly broken. (Ecclesiastes 4:12)

There is a corruption-proof, erosion-proof, divorce-proof cord strapping me and hubby together that is not easily broken. This cord is Christ Himself.
Many take marriage on without this cord being the center of their lives and their marriage, and suffer greatly for it. They fight and fight and fight some more, getting more and more annoyed and even sick of each other until one or both of them finally throws their hands up and quits.
See, two sinners pledging their lives to one another till death do them part is unhealthy–unless God rules your heart and you give Him the reins in your marriage. He’s the One who came up with the whole two becoming one idea and sharing life together so I think it’s safe to conclude He knows the best way to go about doing it.

Wives, submit to your own husbands, as to the Lord. For the husband is head of the wife, as also Christ is head of the church; and He is the Savior of the body. Therefore, just as the church is subject to Christ, so let the wives be to their own husbands in everything. Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ also loved the church and gave Himself for her, that He might sanctify and cleanse her with the washing of water by the word, that He might present her to Himself a glorious church, not having spot or wrinkle or any such thing, but that she should be holy and without blemish. So husbands ought to love their own wives as their own bodies; he who loves his wife loves himself. For no one ever hated his own flesh, but nourishes and cherishes it, just as the Lord does the church. For we are members of His body, of His flesh and of His bones. “For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh.” This is a great mystery, but I speak concerning Christ and the church. Nevertheless let each one of you in particular so love his own wife as himself, and let the wife see that she respects her husband. (Ephesians 5:22-33)

The Bible has a lot to say about marriage, but this passage pretty much sums it up. Now I’m not saying me and hubby have never argued, but when we did, or do, it’s because we’re simply not obeying God’s marriage-commands and/or we’re sinning in another area of our lives and its affecting our marriage. That’s why I said it’s unhealthy to go about marriage without God ruling your heart and marriage.
God knows how desperately we stink at morality, so in His amazing grace and kindness, He offered His Perfect Son to hang on a cross and die to make the way for forgiveness and heaven, and then sends those who accept His Son, the Holy Spirit.
This Holy Spirit comes into our hearts and helps us obey God’s commands and teaches us more and more who Christ is.
The love of Christ transforms us, and we become more like Him daily.
That is why me and hubby’s marriage has only gotten better: he’s allowed Christ to rule his heart, and I have too, and when we mess up, we keep going back to God for help.
We pray together, go to Bible study together, encourage one another, support each other’s callings, Jonathan loves me, and I respect him.
And as long as we keep Jesus at the center of our lives and marriage, every anniversary will be sweeter.

Are you married? Have any thoughts or questions? Feel free to share them in a comment. I’d love to hear from you.

About BetterThanPrinceCharming

Ever since Kindergarten I've dated. From Bobby Well onward, I had over four dozen boyfriends. Fifth grade was my high year: sixteen sweethearts. I went through a few boys every year after that during middle school, and high school was where my dry season hit. Between freshman and senior year I had a consumation of nine boyfriends. I was on a hunt. I'd seen every Disney princess movie, and I was bound and determined to find my prince. Prince Charming wasn't in a far away land, he was in Miami, and I wasn't going to stop until I found him. So I thought. Villains are usually the one's who get in the way of your pursuit for happiness, not Heros, right? Well, in my case, it was both. View all posts by BetterThanPrinceCharming

Leave a Reply

