Writer, what will your legacy be?

As I was brushing my teeth, it dawned on me: through blogging, I am leading a legacy. One day my future children will be able to go back and read every single thing I’ve written online. So it got me thinking, what legacy are you leaving behind? What are your blogs about? Are they self-centered, other-centered, thing-centered, or God-centered? Or are you just all over the place? Why do you choose to write? What compels you, what inspires you, what keeps you going? Because writing isn’t for the faint of heart. It can be grueling. But if you have a divine purpose for doing it, it’s incredible.
It’s one thing to do something because you have a passion for it. It’s an entirely other thing to have a passion for God and know He’s called you and desires to use you to impact and change the lives of others for eternity. That’s passion to an almost incomprehensible degree.
My mind can barely wrap itself around the fact that God has gifted me for His divine will and purposes. Who am I, this mere dust-matter who is microscopic through the lens of this insanely vast universe, that God would mold me with a gift and then inspire me to use it to bring others to a clearer revelation of Himself, to send some divine message that will penetrate their hearts or piqué their interest in seeking Him out?
Who am I that the Master Storyteller has granted me the high honor of experiencing some of the awesome creativity that goes into the art of storytelling?
That’s the clincher: I am nothing but a sinner. It is only by His great love that I can experience anything good at all. It is only by His incredible love that I live, that I know He exists, that I write.
The Creator of the universe is my All-Consuming Fire, the light by which I am able to see and comprehend anything I think I comprehend. It is by His grace alone that I desire to write, that there is a flame in my heart called life, that motivates and compels me by His love.
So here I am, writing a legacy that I pray leaves an eternal mark in the hearts of my readers. I write for Him. I write for them.
What do you write for?

About BetterThanPrinceCharming

Ever since Kindergarten I've dated. From Bobby Well onward, I had over four dozen boyfriends. Fifth grade was my high year: sixteen sweethearts. I went through a few boys every year after that during middle school, and high school was where my dry season hit. Between freshman and senior year I had a consumation of nine boyfriends. I was on a hunt. I'd seen every Disney princess movie, and I was bound and determined to find my prince. Prince Charming wasn't in a far away land, he was in Miami, and I wasn't going to stop until I found him. So I thought. Villains are usually the one's who get in the way of your pursuit for happiness, not Heros, right? Well, in my case, it was both. View all posts by BetterThanPrinceCharming

Leave a Reply

